Earth Times Logo
RSS Feed Google+ Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest


Conservation News

Conservation is too conservative in the UK

Conservation is too conservative in the UK

Posted Wed, 27 Aug 2014 06:08:13 GMT by Paul Robinson

The white-tailed eagle, the dormouse and the large blue butterfly are all threatened. But not by extinction. The threat comes from ill-equipped government who are going to cling to a list of alien plants and animals that is so far out-of-date, Darwin would have laughed. People would then be allowed to exterminate species like this on their land.

Conservation is too conservative in the UK

Watch the whale population in Norway!

Watch the whale population in Norway!

Posted Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:32:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Why do rich countries sometimes encourage their citizens to consume meats beyond the normal acceptable species. So many extinctions have been caused by restaurant menus that hunting have created.

Watch the whale population in Norway!

Blue Shark life and death in the Azores

Blue Shark life and death in the Azores

Posted Thu, 14 Aug 2014 12:19:00 GMT by Paul Robinson

How long can we allow shark-fin soup to decimate and make extinct the top predators of our oceans? The shark is not just one fish. The range of shapes and sizes is vast in these ancient cartilaginous fish. We need that diversity and presence in the ecosystem. Here is one species we hardly notice, as their time is spent far from us, where they are probably better off!

Blue Shark life and death in the Azores

Carbon credits, afforestation and wildlife diversity, at last

Carbon credits, afforestation and wildlife diversity, at last

Posted Mon, 11 Aug 2014 06:30:00 GMT by JW Dowey

While politics plays a part, people’s hearts and minds are a much more important local cog in the process of building conservation, industrial, afforestation, eco-tourism and educational change into the environmental perspective.

Carbon credits, afforestation and wildlife diversity, at last

Another extinct cetacean?

Another extinct cetacean?

Posted Thu, 07 Aug 2014 07:44:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

The old story is about to repeat itself again. Small species with a limited niche, Chinese medicine again an ugly influence. The Mexican government and all available help will be needed to beat this extinction, visibly obvious as a fishing season approaches.A Conservation Challenge indeed!

Another extinct cetacean?

Ant eater lovers wanted

Ant eater lovers wanted

Posted Sun, 27 Jul 2014 10:29:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Why must we hunt and make extinct those animals we know need conservation and, better than that, protection of all kinds? Bolivia hunts the giant ant eater and they’re extinct in Costa Rica and Uruguay. These habits of old have to die, or there will be nothing left in places where there should be a highly saleable diversity.

Ant eater lovers wanted

Conservation News Archives Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 

Diverse worlds of animals and plants disappearing

Posted Fri, 18 Jul 2014 10:45:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Gorillas see tourists by appointment

Posted Sun, 29 Jun 2014 08:39:00 GMT by JW Dowey

Sea change in Europe is slow

Posted Mon, 23 Jun 2014 06:50:00 GMT by Colin Ricketts

Satao, the elephant king, is killed

Posted Tue, 17 Jun 2014 07:10:00 GMT by JW Dowey

Virunga National Park safe - for now

Posted Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:31:26 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Quoll story will unveil all marsupial ills?

Posted Sat, 31 May 2014 09:40:00 GMT by JW Dowey

Rare crocodile increasing with grassroots conservation

Posted Tue, 13 May 2014 14:18:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Whitley Wonders in Haiti and Ecuador (Awards)

Posted Sat, 10 May 2014 11:50:00 GMT by JW Dowey

Orcas' Hebridean overture

Posted Wed, 07 May 2014 07:43:00 GMT by Penny Bunting

Pacific conservation resurgence

Posted Tue, 06 May 2014 11:05:00 GMT by Colin Ricketts

Greenpeace: Oceans Still in Peril, Hope on the Horizon

Posted Sat, 16 Apr 2011 09:16:00 GMT by Kirsten E. Silven

Romanian Ancient Woodland Needs Protection

Posted Thu, 27 Oct 2011 16:42:12 GMT by Dave Collier

Two rare lion cubs saved in Somalia

Posted Mon, 28 Mar 2011 15:26:00 GMT by Brooke Janssens

We may witness the end of the Canadian seal trade

Posted Mon, 19 Dec 2011 13:21:58 GMT by Dave Collier

Environmentalists believe sanctuary failing to protect polar bears

Posted Mon, 17 Jan 2011 10:22:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Mapping mangroves aids conservation of valuable habitats

Posted Thu, 28 Jul 2011 12:21:00 GMT by Ruth Hendry

Protecting the innocent: Marshall Islands shark sanctuary

Posted Mon, 03 Oct 2011 18:50:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Stork Renaissance

Posted Fri, 04 Apr 2014 06:35:00 GMT by JW Dowey

Plenty more fish in the sea? Not in the Mediterranean

Posted Thu, 21 Apr 2011 12:28:02 GMT by Ruth Hendry

Humpback Numbers Higher

Posted Thu, 20 Oct 2011 21:39:01 GMT by Dave Armstrong