Earth Times Logo
RSS Feed Google+ Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest


Climate News

If you can't stand the heat..

If you can't stand the heat..

Posted Tue, 21 Oct 2014 10:45:00 GMT by JW Dowey

How well are we doing at restraining the natural forces that threaten us following the effects of anthropogenic global warming? The answer no politician wants is we're not adapting to the blindingly obvious. Cool it, the planet that is. Otherwise we'll emit so much carbon dioxide and methane that the weather will provide the punishment we deserve.

If you can't stand the heat..

Flood the Pacific islands or don't sell your coal!

Flood the Pacific islands or don't sell your coal!

Posted Sun, 19 Oct 2014 13:29:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

How can we get politics to react to long-term problems, for which the politicians may not even be alive to fully appreciate? The Pacific Islands have an answer, as they are suffering before the great industrial and financial centres start to crumble under flood and tempest!

Flood the Pacific islands or don't sell your coal!

Sea ice helps carbon absorption

Sea ice helps carbon absorption

Posted Mon, 22 Sep 2014 16:59:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

When the sea ice melts, our main concern has been sea-level and loss of habitat as our planet warms. Now we are also losing a valuable carbon dioxide sink, too, according to the latest and most detailed investigation yet.

Sea ice helps carbon absorption

Climate change affects islands, but one snail hangs on.

Climate change affects islands, but one snail hangs on.

Posted Tue, 09 Sep 2014 09:14:00 GMT by Paul Robinson

We can already detect ways in which small creatures are surviving against the odds. The humans and other larger species on islands are next in line to suffer from climate change. Can we help them or do anything at all to mitigate global warming. There is an answer, but do all of our politicians know it?

Climate change affects islands, but one snail hangs on.

Soil carbon is lost with global warming

Soil carbon is lost with global warming

Posted Thu, 04 Sep 2014 09:52:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

The world’s soils have been tested, in a thermal gradient from the Arctic through to the tropical rainforest. Despite claims to the contrary, the loss of carbon as global warming increases is going to increase markedly. We have to prepare ourselves to investigate how soils can be somehow prevented from contributing so much of the greenhouse gases that we have to reduce.

Soil carbon is lost with global warming

WMO and others at Montreal climate change conference

WMO and others at Montreal climate change conference

Posted Fri, 22 Aug 2014 11:30:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

What do we and our children have to look forward to? The weather forecasters and meteorologist have a menu few would enjoy.

WMO and others at Montreal climate change conference

Climate News Archives Page : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 

Trees lose out to climate change

Posted Fri, 15 Aug 2014 10:01:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Relicts are natural ecological laboratories

Posted Wed, 13 Aug 2014 06:11:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Oceania sinks, and like New Zealand, we have to help

Posted Tue, 12 Aug 2014 05:48:00 GMT by Paul Robinson

New Atlantic/Pacific climate links cause US and island calamity

Posted Mon, 04 Aug 2014 09:09:00 GMT by JW Dowey

The emperor has no ice

Posted Tue, 01 Jul 2014 07:20:00 GMT by Paul Robinson

Ice influence will prevent some cold spells

Posted Mon, 16 Jun 2014 07:26:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Even more carbon emitted from tropical forests!

Posted Mon, 26 May 2014 07:40:00 GMT by Colin Ricketts

Melting Antarctic ice and sea levels

Posted Fri, 09 May 2014 14:41:00 GMT by Dave Armstrong

Climate change and permafrost loss

Posted Mon, 24 Mar 2014 06:35:00 GMT by Paul Robinson

Costing 21st Century coastal flooding

Posted Wed, 05 Feb 2014 14:16:00 GMT by JW Dowey

World Meteorological Day - 23rd March

Posted Sat, 23 Mar 2013 14:40:01 GMT by Michael Evans

Mathematicians turn weather forecasters with new rainfall study

Posted Mon, 06 Jun 2011 15:37:01 GMT by Colin Ricketts

Looking to Amazon natives for a sustainable future

Posted Wed, 25 May 2011 13:41:01 GMT by Colin Ricketts

West Antarctica gets warmed from tropics via 'Rossby waves'

Posted Mon, 11 Apr 2011 15:11:02 GMT by Martin Leggett

More ice leaving polar ice sheets than ever before

Posted Thu, 10 Mar 2011 17:34:01 GMT by Louise Murray

Megacities gather to tackle climate change

Posted Thu, 02 Jun 2011 09:22:00 GMT by Colin Ricketts

Managed forests can soak up more carbon

Posted Wed, 10 Aug 2011 15:08:00 GMT by Kieran Ball

Global climate affects stability of modern societies

Posted Thu, 25 Aug 2011 11:41:00 GMT by Louise Murray

Act now to prime the green growth pump says WWF

Posted Sun, 19 Jun 2011 16:07:00 GMT by Colin Ricketts

The canary is tweeting - Arctic winter ice ties lowest level ever

Posted Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:06:00 GMT by Martin Leggett