Earth Times Logo
RSS Feed Google+ Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest


Melanie J. Martin

Melanie J. Martin's bio


Melanie Jae Martin is a freelance writer who loves to write about environmental issues and travel. She has a passion for exploring cultural relationships with environments, and completed a master's thesis on cultural attitudes toward wild animals in the U.S. While exploring the world, she strives to understand and explore culturally relevant solutions to environmental issues. She enjoys writing for children as well as for adults. She also loves hiking and camping, participating in community theater, and telling stories that foster harmonious relationships between humans and the rest of nature.


Mountain pine beetle blight creates air pollution in forests

Posted Thu, 24 May 2012 22:27:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Honeybee Colony Collapse Linked to Corn Insecticide

Posted Thu, 15 Mar 2012 15:43:42 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Obama Rejects Keystone XL Pipeline

Posted Thu, 19 Jan 2012 02:59:12 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

COP17: Saving Tomorrow, Tomorrow

Posted Sat, 10 Dec 2011 20:22:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Carbon pirates threaten indigenous Peruvian peoples, report says

Posted Thu, 01 Dec 2011 00:03:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Environmental Regulations Create Jobs, Economists Say

Posted Mon, 31 Oct 2011 12:16:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Occupy Wall Street: Taxes, Jobs, and Environment

Posted Mon, 10 Oct 2011 08:10:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

TRAIN Wreck Bill Passes in the House

Posted Sun, 25 Sep 2011 06:45:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Green Brands for Green Places: Good Idea or Liability?

Posted Wed, 21 Sep 2011 14:09:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Natural disasters pose threat to coral reefs

Posted Mon, 12 Sep 2011 18:12:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Community Forests safer than protected areas

Posted Fri, 26 Aug 2011 10:11:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Conservation boosts crop yields, researchers say

Posted Tue, 23 Aug 2011 22:43:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Soft corals crucial to reef building

Posted Tue, 16 Aug 2011 20:32:54 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Marine reserve's dramatic recovery shocks scientists

Posted Sun, 14 Aug 2011 21:44:01 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Borneo Longhouse communities sue timber companies and government

Posted Tue, 09 Aug 2011 21:43:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Ice shelf collapse causes glacial surge

Posted Wed, 27 Jul 2011 14:50:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Trade in snakes, macaques, sharks out of control, CITES affirms

Posted Mon, 25 Jul 2011 09:19:01 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Can Chimps Have PTSD?

Posted Fri, 17 Jun 2011 06:22:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Will China Divert Yarlung Tsangpo River?

Posted Mon, 13 Jun 2011 16:19:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Cities Change Wind Patterns, Raising Pollution

Posted Tue, 07 Jun 2011 23:52:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Social factors affect acceptance of sustainable technologies

Posted Sat, 04 Jun 2011 13:20:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Indonesian President Signs Long-Awaited Forest Clearing Moratorium Decree

Posted Thu, 19 May 2011 18:27:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Bison Hazing by Helicopter Sparks Lawsuit

Posted Thu, 19 May 2011 14:33:01 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Plan aims to manage white nose syndrome across borders

Posted Tue, 17 May 2011 22:03:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Current Study Aims to Create New Voluntourism Guidelines

Posted Tue, 17 May 2011 09:31:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Landmark UN Study Voices Belief in Renewable Future

Posted Mon, 09 May 2011 19:33:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Trees killed by Pine Beetles create more dangerous fires

Posted Fri, 06 May 2011 14:55:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Increase in whale strandings causes concern

Posted Fri, 06 May 2011 08:26:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

Southeast Asia's Tropical Peatlands could Disappear by 2030

Posted Tue, 03 May 2011 15:29:00 GMT by Melanie J. Martin

ALEC Lets Corporations Craft Environmental Policy

Posted Sun, 29 Jul 2012 14:01:04 GMT by Melanie J. Martin