Earth Times Logo
RSS Feed Google+ Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest


Lucy Brake

Lucy Brake's bio


Lucy is a freelance writer specialising in environmental, conservation and sustainability issues. She has been writing on global environmental issues for many years and is passionate about writing to help promote change.

Lucy is active in environmental associations, including as a commission member of the International Union for Conservation of Nature.

She lives in a small coastal community in NZ with her husband and two young children.


The world's dying oceans

Posted Tue, 13 Sep 2011 08:47:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Auckland Zoo captures NZ's natural heart

Posted Tue, 13 Sep 2011 08:10:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Nomads may hold the answer to drought crisis

Posted Wed, 31 Aug 2011 22:54:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Finned sharks found washed up on New Zealand's coast

Posted Wed, 31 Aug 2011 22:05:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

New framework helps relocation of species threatened by climate change

Posted Wed, 27 Jul 2011 14:39:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Japan to resume Southern Ocean whaling; Sea Shepherd to resume whale defence

Posted Fri, 15 Jul 2011 12:14:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Celebrate the power of wind with Global Wind Day

Posted Wed, 15 Jun 2011 05:39:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

One of the world's biggest birds is in grave danger

Posted Tue, 07 Jun 2011 11:05:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Renewable energy could cost us less money sooner than predicted

Posted Mon, 30 May 2011 07:49:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Discovery of fossilised mouse teeth challenges beliefs about their ancestors

Posted Fri, 27 May 2011 08:59:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

The fight for Arctic oil heats up

Posted Wed, 25 May 2011 09:44:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

First Canadian city bans shark fin trade

Posted Thu, 19 May 2011 15:40:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sperm whales speak with regional accents

Posted Sat, 14 May 2011 09:11:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Demand for illegal bear bile sores in Asia

Posted Fri, 13 May 2011 11:08:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Malaysian state plans to make shark finning illegal

Posted Tue, 10 May 2011 08:39:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Shark fins tracked by DNA

Posted Fri, 29 Apr 2011 09:20:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Biofuels tipped to fuel transportation sector by 2050

Posted Thu, 28 Apr 2011 10:59:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Australia's carbon emissions rising

Posted Sun, 24 Apr 2011 13:49:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Toxic chemicals found in peregrine falcon eggs

Posted Fri, 22 Apr 2011 14:23:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Nightingale Island penguins still at threat

Posted Thu, 14 Apr 2011 12:40:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sea Shepherd fights slaughter of pilot whales in Faroe Islands

Posted Thu, 14 Apr 2011 11:23:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Confrontations intensify over deep sea oil drilling in New Zealand

Posted Wed, 13 Apr 2011 12:58:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Support greening our planet on Earth Day 2011

Posted Tue, 12 Apr 2011 13:12:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

New research could save seabirds from fishing longlines

Posted Tue, 05 Apr 2011 08:33:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

U.S. says no deal to BP resuming oil drilling

Posted Mon, 04 Apr 2011 21:51:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch shows a good year for little birds

Posted Fri, 01 Apr 2011 10:39:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Earth Day 2011 - What is your Act of Green?

Posted Thu, 31 Mar 2011 17:44:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

New species of green pit viper snake discovered

Posted Wed, 30 Mar 2011 10:24:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Melting icebergs linked to carbon dioxide absorption

Posted Sun, 27 Mar 2011 16:29:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Google invests in green transport

Posted Thu, 24 Mar 2011 22:36:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Pro Sports Teams Go Green

Posted Wed, 23 Mar 2011 20:36:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Assessing the vital signs of coral reefs

Posted Mon, 21 Mar 2011 23:49:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Russians join fight for sustainable fisheries

Posted Mon, 21 Mar 2011 08:22:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Zoos being urged to breed endangered species

Posted Fri, 18 Mar 2011 23:49:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Interest in 'green' services doubles in America

Posted Fri, 18 Mar 2011 10:12:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Earth Hour 2011: Will you be switching off?

Posted Wed, 16 Mar 2011 14:00:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

High speed testing for toxins in chemicals by new robot

Posted Tue, 15 Mar 2011 08:31:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

A Billion Acts of Green: Earth Day 2011

Posted Thu, 03 Mar 2011 19:44:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Beijing air pollution levels off the scale

Posted Tue, 01 Mar 2011 23:12:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Will Facebook Go Green by Earth Day?

Posted Fri, 25 Feb 2011 08:29:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

EU steps up the fight against toxic chemicals

Posted Tue, 22 Feb 2011 09:11:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Less big fish means more little fish

Posted Sun, 20 Feb 2011 13:09:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Hudson River fish evolve toxic immunity

Posted Sun, 20 Feb 2011 11:34:03 GMT by Lucy Brake

Biodiesel produced from wastewater microalgae

Posted Sun, 20 Feb 2011 10:04:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sea Shepherd success as Japan ends whaling season early

Posted Fri, 18 Feb 2011 14:19:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Serengeti World Heritage Site under threat from new highway

Posted Thu, 17 Feb 2011 13:05:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Trade in bushmeat decimating Tanzanian forests

Posted Tue, 15 Feb 2011 13:27:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Carpooling on the decline as solo driver numbers rise

Posted Fri, 11 Feb 2011 08:40:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

New reserves proposed to protect sub-Antarctic marine life

Posted Mon, 31 Jan 2011 09:51:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Fish decline linked to weather cycle in Atlantic

Posted Wed, 26 Jan 2011 10:07:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Green motor sport becomes a reality

Posted Mon, 24 Jan 2011 09:15:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Bioplastics holds key to future of our environmental packaging needs

Posted Fri, 21 Jan 2011 11:12:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Whaling fleet prevented from refueling as the fight for whales heats up

Posted Tue, 18 Jan 2011 09:35:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Environmentalists believe sanctuary failing to protect polar bears

Posted Mon, 17 Jan 2011 10:22:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Critically endangered whales face fresh threat from new oil development

Posted Mon, 10 Jan 2011 13:14:42 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sea Shepherd clashes with Japanese whalers

Posted Sun, 02 Jan 2011 12:21:09 GMT by Lucy Brake

Northern Marianas leads Pacific Islands in fight against shark finners

Posted Thu, 16 Dec 2010 12:51:09 GMT by Lucy Brake

Advocacy group in Australia calls for global boycott of bluefin tuna

Posted Mon, 13 Dec 2010 13:22:06 GMT by Lucy Brake

Rewards offered for information leading to conviction of seal killers

Posted Mon, 13 Dec 2010 10:34:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Evidence suggests deforestation of Amazon is slowing down

Posted Thu, 09 Dec 2010 07:00:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

International scientists join forces to track endangered whales

Posted Tue, 07 Dec 2010 10:20:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sea Shepherd attacks Japanese whalers with 'Godzilla'

Posted Thu, 02 Dec 2010 11:45:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Cancun Climate Conference: Extreme heat events will be the norm

Posted Thu, 02 Dec 2010 08:50:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Extensive shark sanctuary declared for an Indonesian island

Posted Wed, 01 Dec 2010 12:15:02 GMT by Lucy Brake

Save sharks and sea turtles but not bluefin tuna says fishing industry

Posted Mon, 29 Nov 2010 10:11:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Large-scale offshore wind farms get the go ahead in US

Posted Thu, 25 Nov 2010 18:44:57 GMT by Lucy Brake

Polar bears starvation risk as Hudson Bay ice is late arriving

Posted Tue, 23 Nov 2010 18:50:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sea Shepherd fight poaching in the Galapagos Islands

Posted Mon, 22 Nov 2010 13:00:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

New species of lizard being served up in Vietnamese restaurant

Posted Sun, 21 Nov 2010 13:52:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Underground CO2 storage may contaminate drinking water

Posted Sun, 21 Nov 2010 10:58:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

NZ likely to send Navy to watch over anti-whaling protestors

Posted Thu, 18 Nov 2010 19:26:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Australian Government approve floating LNG processing plant

Posted Thu, 18 Nov 2010 07:26:53 GMT by Lucy Brake

International community to fight toothfish pirates

Posted Wed, 17 Nov 2010 19:58:04 GMT by Lucy Brake

European Union stepping up the fight against shark finning

Posted Wed, 17 Nov 2010 13:10:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sea lice from farmed salmon infesting wild salmon in British Columbia

Posted Tue, 16 Nov 2010 17:49:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

American Samoa has become the first U.S. state or territory to ban plastic bags

Posted Mon, 15 Nov 2010 13:04:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

America Recycles Day - Tackling a growing mountain of waste

Posted Sun, 14 Nov 2010 12:55:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

World's first carbon reduction labelled wine enters the market

Posted Fri, 12 Nov 2010 19:31:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Theo Chocolate - the ultimate in green chocolate

Posted Wed, 21 Sep 2011 13:15:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Right as Rain is eco-fashion inspired by nature

Posted Tue, 06 Sep 2011 18:20:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Secluded luxury in the Cook Islands at the Pacific Resort Aitutaki

Posted Sat, 03 Sep 2011 10:05:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Kangaroo Island - The Galapagos of Australia

Posted Fri, 29 Jul 2011 19:00:54 GMT by Lucy Brake

Environment Furniture: Eco-comfort for your home

Posted Fri, 15 Jul 2011 16:45:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Anna Sova offers a little green living luxury

Posted Mon, 27 Jun 2011 09:30:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Tips to save money and fuel

Posted Mon, 20 Jun 2011 09:35:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Discover the natural wonder of Australia's Green Cauldron

Posted Wed, 15 Jun 2011 11:15:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Using landfills to teach about green living in Australia

Posted Sat, 11 Jun 2011 14:20:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Keeping your home clean the natural way

Posted Fri, 27 May 2011 11:55:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Eco-friendly jewellery by Green Karat

Posted Wed, 25 May 2011 12:58:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

New marine species found in New Zealand

Posted Tue, 24 May 2011 08:20:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Recycling junk to create fine art

Posted Mon, 23 May 2011 07:00:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Hop on your bike and explore the Mekong Delta

Posted Fri, 20 May 2011 08:20:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Hidden in Daintree Rainforest is Australia's ultimate eco-lodge

Posted Wed, 18 May 2011 09:15:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Stylish textiles don't have to cost the Earth

Posted Thu, 12 May 2011 12:55:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Mix up a eco-friendly cocktail with VeeV

Posted Thu, 12 May 2011 11:45:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

The great debate about nappies

Posted Wed, 11 May 2011 17:15:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Sustainable textiles - the revival of wool

Posted Fri, 06 May 2011 08:30:00 GMT by Lucy Brake

Greening our pets lives

Posted Wed, 04 May 2011 05:40:01 GMT by Lucy Brake

Watching whales in Kaikoura, New Zealand

Posted Tue, 03 May 2011 18:32:00 GMT by Lucy Brake