Earth Times Logo
RSS Feed Google+ Facebook Twitter Linked In Pinterest


Laura Brown

Laura Brown's bio


A former BBC Journalist Laura covered breaking news and features for a number of stations including Radio 4, 5Live and Radio 2 as a freelancer before settling back into her hometown of Liverpool. From their she won awards including a Sony before working on the city's artistic programme during its year as European Capital of Culture. Laura now works as a freelance writer and producer covering news, the environment, politics and society.


Roundup of environment news stories this week: 4th November 2011

Posted Fri, 04 Nov 2011 22:11:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Top environmental news stories this week: 28th October 2011

Posted Fri, 28 Oct 2011 18:55:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Room for one more

Posted Tue, 25 Oct 2011 12:39:31 GMT by Laura Brown

Top environmental news stories from this week: 21st October 2011

Posted Fri, 21 Oct 2011 15:44:00 GMT by Laura Brown

This week's top environment news stories: October 14th 2011

Posted Fri, 14 Oct 2011 13:10:00 GMT by Laura Brown

The environmental news this week: October 7th 2011

Posted Fri, 07 Oct 2011 14:00:01 GMT by Laura Brown

This week's top environment news stories: September 30th 2011

Posted Fri, 30 Sep 2011 16:46:52 GMT by Laura Brown

First 'green Nobel' winner, Wangari Maathai dies

Posted Mon, 26 Sep 2011 13:04:00 GMT by Laura Brown

The week's environmental news roundup: September 23rd 2011

Posted Fri, 23 Sep 2011 14:30:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Bill McKibben the environmental campaigner

Posted Thu, 22 Sep 2011 16:33:00 GMT by Laura Brown

This week's environmental news roundup: September 16th 2011

Posted Fri, 16 Sep 2011 14:30:00 GMT by Laura Brown

New flood warnings for New York as Tropical Storm crosses northeast

Posted Wed, 07 Sep 2011 15:46:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Stranded calf whale freed after 8 hour battle

Posted Wed, 07 Sep 2011 09:45:10 GMT by Laura Brown

500 Texas homes destroyed by wildfires

Posted Tue, 06 Sep 2011 09:14:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Hurricane Katia becomes category 4 storm

Posted Tue, 06 Sep 2011 08:56:56 GMT by Laura Brown

How coral could be the secret for sunscreen pill

Posted Wed, 31 Aug 2011 13:41:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Could California ban styrofoam cups?

Posted Tue, 30 Aug 2011 16:12:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Clean-up for Lake Ellesmere, New Zealand's most polluted Lake

Posted Fri, 26 Aug 2011 19:26:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Otters are the comeback kings

Posted Thu, 18 Aug 2011 08:57:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Shell's North Sea oil spill is ''worst for a decade''

Posted Tue, 16 Aug 2011 11:03:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Canada slashes green jobs

Posted Mon, 08 Aug 2011 19:29:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Did debt battle mask Republican assault on EPA?

Posted Tue, 02 Aug 2011 18:59:13 GMT by Laura Brown

Time to tax plastic carrier bags?

Posted Fri, 29 Jul 2011 17:57:00 GMT by Laura Brown

How green are the 2012 London Olympic Games?

Posted Thu, 28 Jul 2011 13:19:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Twitter injunction against Greenpeace backfires

Posted Wed, 20 Jul 2011 16:26:52 GMT by Laura Brown

Campaign to save anti-whaling ship

Posted Wed, 20 Jul 2011 11:59:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Eating lamb is worst for the environment

Posted Tue, 19 Jul 2011 14:25:06 GMT by Laura Brown

The battle to protect the Grand Canyon

Posted Wed, 13 Jul 2011 12:33:00 GMT by Laura Brown

'Big Six' energy firms dominance could end

Posted Thu, 07 Jul 2011 15:17:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Winds of change in the US

Posted Fri, 01 Jul 2011 12:23:01 GMT by Laura Brown

NASA launches planes to tackle air pollution

Posted Thu, 30 Jun 2011 14:18:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Experts argue over future of 'Happy Feet' penguin

Posted Tue, 28 Jun 2011 09:25:00 GMT by Laura Brown

New map tracks protected fish and wildlife

Posted Fri, 24 Jun 2011 13:51:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Controversial hunting restrictions on New York deer

Posted Thu, 23 Jun 2011 12:19:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Farmers' anger in land law delay

Posted Wed, 22 Jun 2011 08:44:00 GMT by Laura Brown

India's leather industry told to clean up its act

Posted Tue, 21 Jun 2011 14:19:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Farmer's count the cost of drought

Posted Thu, 16 Jun 2011 14:00:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Three genes tying migraine sufferers together

Posted Tue, 14 Jun 2011 15:40:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Should we live in smaller houses to help the environment?

Posted Fri, 10 Jun 2011 19:49:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Environmental assessment of proposed pipeline is 'inadequate' says EPA

Posted Fri, 10 Jun 2011 14:32:00 GMT by Laura Brown

UK government sets out environmental vision

Posted Wed, 08 Jun 2011 10:39:01 GMT by Laura Brown

New technology to transform India's Project Tiger

Posted Fri, 03 Jun 2011 09:02:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Measuring the environmental impact of America's tornado season

Posted Thu, 02 Jun 2011 12:51:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Wild species numbers in the Masai Mara drop by two thirds

Posted Wed, 01 Jun 2011 09:02:00 GMT by Laura Brown

'Green deal' is ''too expensive'' for UK homeowners

Posted Wed, 25 May 2011 12:26:00 GMT by Laura Brown

How should Pakistan tackle its biodiversity crisis?

Posted Wed, 25 May 2011 12:12:00 GMT by Laura Brown

UK firms illegally dumping e-waste in Africa

Posted Tue, 24 May 2011 09:19:00 GMT by Laura Brown

UK butterfly revival could be hit by cuts

Posted Fri, 20 May 2011 12:22:00 GMT by Laura Brown

UK Government accused of hiding nuclear power subsidy

Posted Mon, 16 May 2011 18:28:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Protests in Chile against dam project

Posted Fri, 13 May 2011 13:25:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Is the green revolution stalling?

Posted Wed, 11 May 2011 15:34:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Wi-fi technology faces disruption from climate change

Posted Tue, 10 May 2011 15:50:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Obama seeks to extend water rules

Posted Thu, 05 May 2011 19:37:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Wind Farms paid to stop producing energy

Posted Wed, 04 May 2011 09:19:00 GMT by Laura Brown

IOC vows to make sporting venues greener

Posted Tue, 03 May 2011 15:52:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Australia puts on hold a revamp of environment laws

Posted Thu, 28 Apr 2011 18:37:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Driest March for 50 years in UK prompts fears of summer drought

Posted Wed, 27 Apr 2011 13:07:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Wild parakeets face a UK cull

Posted Wed, 27 Apr 2011 10:46:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Ukraine marks 25th anniversary of Chernobyl disaster

Posted Tue, 26 Apr 2011 10:58:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Google invests in world's largest solar power tower plant

Posted Fri, 22 Apr 2011 16:00:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Nine month pledge to end Japan's nuclear crisis

Posted Wed, 20 Apr 2011 11:07:27 GMT by Laura Brown

Is Brazil's Cerrado the ''ugly duckling'' of conservation?

Posted Wed, 13 Apr 2011 15:09:00 GMT by Laura Brown

£100 million investment for UK river wildlife

Posted Wed, 13 Apr 2011 13:14:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Animal rights' campaigners want the Grand National banned as two horses die

Posted Mon, 11 Apr 2011 12:00:01 GMT by Laura Brown

The world is getting windier

Posted Fri, 08 Apr 2011 15:27:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Research discovers darker feathers mean healthier pigeons

Posted Thu, 07 Apr 2011 18:36:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Greenpeace warns thousands still risk contamination from Chernobyl

Posted Tue, 05 Apr 2011 13:49:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Emission targets set to clean up rural China

Posted Fri, 01 Apr 2011 12:10:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Should business be forced to publish their environmental impact?

Posted Fri, 01 Apr 2011 10:09:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Swedish Government defends wolf hunt

Posted Wed, 30 Mar 2011 13:35:01 GMT by Laura Brown

Marine life under threat because of our dependence on plastic

Posted Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:44:01 GMT by Laura Brown

How the Libyan crisis is causing fear in the oil markets

Posted Thu, 24 Mar 2011 13:02:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Is the clock ticking on Earth Hour?

Posted Tue, 22 Mar 2011 17:21:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Obama weighs in to allay US radiation fears

Posted Fri, 18 Mar 2011 15:21:00 GMT by Laura Brown

New measures to tackle the deaths of birds of prey in Scotland

Posted Thu, 17 Mar 2011 17:15:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Nuclear stocks drop in the US after Japan quake

Posted Mon, 14 Mar 2011 14:56:00 GMT by Laura Brown

BP oil spill set for the big screen: Deepwater Horizon's Final Hours

Posted Wed, 09 Mar 2011 20:23:03 GMT by Laura Brown

Climate turns nasty on the hill as Republicans prepare to block green agenda

Posted Wed, 09 Mar 2011 20:03:00 GMT by Laura Brown

How prepared is the UK for flash floods?

Posted Tue, 08 Mar 2011 11:12:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Canada to restrict mercury products

Posted Wed, 02 Mar 2011 20:52:00 GMT by Laura Brown

US dependence on imported oil could hamper economic recovery

Posted Wed, 02 Mar 2011 19:25:00 GMT by Laura Brown

Pollution stands in the way of China's future growth

Posted Tue, 01 Mar 2011 22:50:00 GMT by Laura Brown